week 5

Another one bites the dust. All in all a not so bad week. The start of the week was great as usual and the weekend screwed it up for me. Again.
I had a wedding on the Saturday night and the big after party the day after. What a weekend it was!

As good as it was I must admit that I’m starting to tire of all the partying. I really can’t wait for a quiet week where I can just sit at home and relax (and eat healthy). The sad news is (if you want to call it that) is that it doesn’t look to be letting up for a few more weeks! The downfall of growing up with a rich European culture (note: sarcasm).
I think I’m feeling a bit extra guilty because I’ve carried my weekend habits into the start of my week. I’ll be honest, I haven’t been that bad these past 2 days, but I could’ve been a bit better.
So onto more important stuff. Tomorrow is the Ash Wednesday, the start of Lent. For those who aren’t familiar with the Catholic faith, Lent marks the start of the lead up to Easter. Without going into too much detail, typically during the 40 days of Lent, you should give something up. Something you really love or think you can’t live without. Usually every year I go with chocolate, alcohol, or gambling. This year, as a part of my 365 days of change, I’ve decided to give up smoking.
I didn’t realise until today that that day is tomorrow. I don’t think I’m ready. I don’t think any smoker is ever ready, but I’m going to have to bite the bullet and get it done. I think (hope) that the first 40 days won’t be as hard as say the next 200 odd days because of the spiritual motivation. If Jesus can go in the desert for 40 days without food or water, why can’t I stop smoking for 40 days?
I’ve been a full time smoker for about 10 years now, and I enjoy it. Always have. When I drink I smoke – twice as much as normal and the fact that pretty much ALL of my friends smoke is going to make it a lot harder. On the flip side, my wife has also decided to quit, as has my father. My father and I work together and have had many a smoke break over the years. At least I won’t be missing out on anything at work.
In all honesty, it’s pretty daunting. This freaks me out more than any diet or lifestyle change. I’d rather lose 50kg of fat that quit smoking, because I’ve done it before and lasted only 4 months. How the hell am I supposed to quit for the next 40 years?!
Baby steps, as I often tell myself. One day at a time. Don’t look back, just forward. I’ll get there.
Unfortunately due to technical difficulties with my ever reliable camera, I can’t upload the scale and body shots. I’ll have it up by next week so stay tuned.
And wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

