week 2

Here we are again. After a pretty good first week the challenge was on to back it up. Didn’t do too bad this past week, apart from a minor hiccup and a boozy barbecue. My diet consisted pretty much of the same stuff as the first week. Lots of tuna, lots of chicken, heaps of salad and some fruit. Exercise was kept to the minimal once again with a day at the park kicking the ball around with the boys. Better then nothing. Now for the bad. Wednesday night a mate came over and the later the night got, the more tempted I was getting. Yep, the good old late night snack cravings. I gave in. Yeah, I know. My friend felt like some chips and I obliged, as a good host does, and I couldn’t just let him eat by himself. Not the smartest thing to do I know, but I’m not perfect. Although I was pretty pissed off with myself I woke up the next day and tried to focus on the positives. Although there are NO short term positives, I like to think that its ok to snack occasionally, as long as it doesn’t become as regular as showering, or brushing your teeth. I think this whole weight loss thing is a constant battle between mind and body, and if you allow yourself at least one day every fortnight to indulge or over indulge then you can keep the playing field relatively even.

Anyway, to close out the week I had a friends birthday barbecue. This is what I had been looking forward to all week. Good company, great food, and sweet, sweet booze. Unusually, I didn’t stuff myself with food. I ate a little more than I should have but wasn’t looking for the nearest couch afterwards. To make up for that I drank a fair bit. Beer, and bourbon. Once again I’m not perfect but what do you do. I know that I can fall off the wagon, and I know I’ll fall off the wagon again, but its not about falling off the wagon. It’s about getting back on it the next day, and the day after that, and the day after that, and so on until you fall off it again – repeat cycle.

So all up on a scale of 1 to 10 for diet this week I’d probably give myself a 7, and I’m pretty happy with that. The way I look at it, is that I have 365 days to turn myself around. It’s not like I’ve got a music festival to attend in 3 months and I have to look at my best (lol). It might seem like I’m taking a laid back approach but I’m really not. I just want to take my time and do it right, because the longer I can sustain this, the better chance I’m going to have at making this a permanent change, which is the ultimate goal here. Slow and steady wins the race. I’m not even going to bother giving my exercise (or lack thereof) a rating this week. I’ve always been hard on myself in the exercise department, and if I’m not training at least 4 days a week then I’m not training, but don’t worry, this will come in good time.

I’m scared for this week however. Long weekend. A wedding. A big 30th birthday bash.

Stay tuned.

95.3kg

95.3kg
Lost 0.3kg

 

Trimming the fat. SLOWLY.

Trimming the fat. SLOWLY.

Leave a Reply

